Austin Taseski ‘21: The Bulldogs football team this season had many great players and some of these players were awarded at Zuccaro’s Banquets and Catering. George Pohly hosted players from all across the county including schools such as Eisenhower, Chippewa, and Dakota high school. 

Awards presented to Romeo players consisted of two first team all county players in John Lafave ‘20, an offensive tackle, and Ben Weber ‘20, a defensive tackle / tight end. Brian St. Clair ‘20 was awarded second team all county as a running back.

Weber and Lafave both had outstanding seasons. Weber had three touchdowns on the season. The Bulldogs threw the ball only on special occasions and nine touchdown passes was the total on the year. Lafave also drastically improved the offensive line allowing for running backs, Pony Czapski ‘20 and St. Clair to run through defenses the entire year. 

“Its great, I just got a lot stronger and better and all the activities we do as a team have helped,” Lafave said, when asked about the program and how he has improved. “I want to play at the next level but I am undecided.”

St. Clair hopes to play at the next level and has another year to prove his dominance on the field. With double digit touchdowns and an average of 8.2 yards per carry we can only hope to see how his senior season will present itself.

“It makes me feel good and I can look forward to next year. Getting in the weight room and lifting and doing the most I can has helped me a lot. And if I did play at the next level I’d like to play at Grand Valley, Ferris State, or Saginaw Valley State,” St. Clair said.

Greg Tarr ‘20, Long Snapper and Jakob Ploetz ‘20, Defensive End,  received honorable mention all county honors for their efforts. Tarr is committed to the University of Michigan and played excellent this season. Ploetz dominated this season, leading the Bulldogs in tackles. 

The honorable mentions of the Macomb County all star team consisted of Bryce Tinson ‘20, MLB, Justin McNulty ‘20, S, Michael Kostrubiec ‘20, OG, Weston Jones ‘20, OT and DT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.